The Story of Minglan

I’ve been meaning to watch The Story of Minglan ever since I’ve discovered the web novel on novelupdates.

On another note, my blog is up and running!

Hello and welcome! This drama series is finally out!

This is a slice of life genre and based on the trailers, it looks really good! I have a feeling that the show is going to emphasize a LOT on character building.

I wonder how close to the novel this show will be? Let’s find out!

Synopsis from MyDramaList:

Gu Ting Ye (male lead) looks so cute being fed from his wife =)

The Story of Ming Lan, based on the novel written by Guan Xin Ze Luan, follows our heroine through her youth, into her adulthood, and well into her marriage life as well. She’s the 6th child of the Sheng household.

Though she is an intelligent and beautiful child, she was not loved by her family (her mom dies early and her father has two other wives.) She has to hide her intelligence and suffers through the years, hoping to avenge for her mother.

During this process she will meet many friends and foes, one of which is our male lead, Gu family’s second son, Gu Ting Ye. He has helped and mistreated her before, but also the one to witness her sharp wits and lonely soul.

After they get married, they will work together as a power couple, managing the new King’s regime as well as harvesting a world of happiness on their own.

(Starting from the left: Sheng Molan – One of Minglan’s step-sisters, Gu Ting Ye, Minglan & Qi Ruolan – 2nd male lead)

Not sure if you can already tell but since the show covers Minglan’s life from her childhood to her adult life, it’s going to be a long series.

73 Episodes! (This is likely going to be my longest drama to date – beating “Nirvana in Fire” – which was also AMAZING by the way).

So without further adieu, let’s jump right in!

**Note as of 4/20/20: It’s been a year since I’ve started this blog and neglected these recaps. Since I’m rewatching it again, I aim to finish them! Follow along as I highlight the details in each episode!

**Update as of 6/2/20: I finished ALL recaps! Woohoo!

If any of the links are broken, please leave a comment below!

The Story of Minglan Episode Recaps

The series is quite long and another blogger kindly broke it out in arcs (so credit to DramaPearls for breaking this out):

Arc 1|Episodes 1 – 4|Minglan’s childhood
Arc 2|Episodes 5 – 22|First Loves
Arc 3|Episodes 23 – 35|Life and Bloodshed
Arc 4|Episodes 36 – 40|Minglan marries
Arc 5|Episodes 41 – 67|Minglan and her ‘family’
Arc 6|Episodes 68 – 73|Family and the Nation

Notify of
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

The next episode link for episode 21 just links to 21 instead of 22.

BTW, your episode summaries are great. I donated $5 through your Ko-fi button to say “thank-you”!

3 years ago

The next episode link for episode 18 just links to 18 instead of 19.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x